Building Economic Sustainability through Tourism Project

Winners of national tourism photo contest announced on Jordan Tourism Day

15 May 2016

A nationwide tourism photography competition was launched on April 11 and concluded in May with the 12 winners announced by the Ministry of Tourism and Antiquities (MoTA) at the Jordan Tourism Day opening ceremony on May 12 at the Citadel in Amman. The competition was open to all college and university students around the Kingdom and encouraged students to learn more about tourism in Jordan and what the tourism sector has to offer.

To participate, students were asked to take photos that express how tourism enriches the lives of Jordanians. To take creative photos, the competition called on students to do some research and explore the different tourist attractions of their area and elsewhere in Jordan, both historical and natural. There were four categories for the competition: Tourist sites in Jordan; People working in tourism; Authentic foods of Jordan; Nature landscape of Jordan. The event was organized by the MoTA and USAID Building Economy through Sustainable Tourism Project (BEST) in cooperation with the Ministry of Higher Education and Scientific Research (MoHE) and the Ministry of Education (MoE).

A panel of three judges: Mr. Mubarak Al-Saqqa, General Manager of Robina Studio, Mr. Abdelrahem Alarjan, Photographer, and Ms. Ansam Malkawi, Advisor to the Minister of Tourism and Antiquities, selected 12 winners from over 120 entries to the competition, grading the photos according to technical competence, composition, and engagement of viewer. The prizes were generously provided by Nasouh Kayali & Sons/Time Center and Jordan Commercial Bank. In addition to the prizes, an exhibition of the winning photos will tour universities and colleges around Jordan.

Congratulations to the 12 winners and to all the competitors for their amazing efforts! To see the winning photos and all the photo submissions go to:

1st Place: Huda AlSaidi
2nd Place: Abdulaziz AlSafadi
3rd Place: Monther AbuTarha
4th Place: Abdullah AlMigdady
5th Place: Ahmad Jaradat
6th Place: Noorhan Abaychi
7th Place: Mohammad Khlof
8th Place: Mohammad ElHafez
9th Place: Ayham Khazendar
10th Place: Hamza AbuAmmar
11th Place: Hussam AlSaad
12th Place: Marwa Sarhan